Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Masuda Method (MM)

Pokemon Trainer Student Array Donnie boy's Avatar
    Credits

Default The Masuda Method (MM)

(Apologies if this is in the wrong section, or has been discussed elsewhere on the forum)

The Masuda Method for those who have never encountered the term http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Masuda_method

Okay, Ive been using the Masuda Method for a few months now in pokemon x, and have had mixed results. The first two times I attempted it I got Lucky and I produced the desired shinies after several hundred eggs each. However the last two attempts have failed to produce one. Now the Masuda Method isn't a guarantee you will produce a shiny pokemon, it is simply a method that improves your odds of producing a shiny. I am currently MMing to produce either a flawless or 5iv shiny Zorua, I have hatched what must be by now over 1000 eggs and still have not hatched my shiny. Bad Luck? Or am I doing somthing wrong?

The first parents I used were a male 5 iv Mawile with a japanese tag and a flawless female zorua from my game with no tag (by the way location is Ireland and language is English) it failed to produce a shiny and also a lot of the hatched children were missing my desired iv (sp.atk) due to Mawile lacking it.

I changed tact and approached Deneves here on the Forum. (Deneves correct me here if any of this info is wrong ) who has copies of pokemon, X and Y. Both of his copies are North American game cartridges but one of them is currently being played in spanish. Thus pokemon hatched in his spanish language game are being born with spanish tags. I traded Deneves my flawless male and female Zorua pair to his spanish game so he could hatch me a male flawless zorua with a spanish tag so that I could retry the Masuda method with flawless parents this time. One spanish one English.