View RSS Feed

*Insert Witty Title Here Plz*

Thespian

Rate this Entry
So the theatre I've been volunteering with since I moved here last year - the one I was ensemble for Rocky Horror a year ago - is having its yearly musical again. Now I've been helping behind the scenes with every play so far since then, some in bigger ways than others, such as when I stage managed, or how right now I'm assistant directing Philadelphia Story. But this one, I wanted to be in the ensemble again like in Rocky Horror. To me, there was just something cool about being in the ensemble - you're not in the spotlight, but you're such an important cog in the subtle machine that brings the whole musical together.

So I auditioned.

Aaaand I accidentally got a lead!

I didn't turn it down, even though that's not what I was planning on. The only other show I've ever even been in was Rocky, so I've no experience in this other than the million times I've had to fill in for an absent cast member during a rehearsal of Philadelphia Story. But the directors must have faith in me, as they picked me, so I'm gonna try it!

I'm Gloria, and the musical is Return to Forbidden Planet. It's based off Shakespeare's The Tempest as well as an old 50's campy sci-fi movie. It's silly, it's fun, it's iambic pentameter, it's set in space, it has a bunch of 60's rock and roll. It's going to be so much fun! There are a lot of lines in it - many of which delivered by me - that make reference to/make fun of Shakespeare. Such as my favourite, when the Navigational Officer sees some ships on the radar screen, she's not sure if there's one blip or two, and the Captain goes, "Two beeps, or not two beeps?" And the NO responds, "That is the question." It's awesome.